Signal Processing Breaks my Warping..

Your projector questions can be answered here.

Postby BHawthorne » Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:20 am

I got word back from our senior software engineer.

From: Ed Wigg
Sent: Monday, March 14, 2016 11:42 AM

I think a bit more investigation into the hardware is required, like swapping the left and right projectors to if the problem moves. Also swapping cables and and connectors on the graphics card. If the problem stays on map 1 then that would be a good indication that something is going wrong with NThusim and "Elite Dangerous".

Ed.
User avatar
BHawthorne
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby The_Nephilim » Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:29 am

So you want me to switch the to outer projectors and then what?? you want me to switch which port it is connected to in the video card??

But before I go and do that I think I figured out what is going on based on how you said nthusim maintains its warp.. ED is going into a single screen resolution after you start the game from the launcher.. once the game starts the Triplescreen mode kicks in.. I then can alt + tab to desktop and correct the warp there and go back ingame and it usually fixes it fine..

IF you still want me to swtich the Projectors ok just let me know what else you would like me to do..
User avatar
The_Nephilim
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:35 am

Postby BHawthorne » Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:57 pm

No idea. I'm just forwarding what the software engineer sent as far as message.

Makes sense about the resolution issue though. If Elite Dangerous changes resolution at the main menu that might trigger things. It does point to a weakness in Nthusim in an inability to accommodate different resolutions dynamically. I'm going to suggest Nthusim get a feature update where it more gracefully handles resolution changes.
User avatar
BHawthorne
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby The_Nephilim » Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:08 pm

Well since I know the cause now and I would believe it would behave the same way.. I am thinking that guy was trying to see if it was maybe the porojector itself faulty but I don't think that is the cause..

I do have this happen on some other games like DCSW and when I alt + tab to goto close task manager sometimes all the monitors reset with the signal processing.. but I am better able to control when the warp breaks to getting back to a normal warp now..

It took some time to figure out but I can reliably get the warp corrected almost 100% besides the far left screen because If I go there with the mouse cursur it just reverts back to where it was before I fixed it and then ingame it is broke again..

it is a bit of a hassle so I look forward to when you get that feature implemented..

Thnx again Brad'
User avatar
The_Nephilim
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:35 am

Previous

Return to NTHUSIM Standard & Plus -- Projectors

cron