LOTRO, Win 10 & nThusim not playing nice

How to optimize games for NTHUSIM products.

Postby BHawthorne » Thu Mar 09, 2017 8:20 pm

Here is my nthusim.log. Only thing I see that is different is I'm a bit newer Nvidia driver. Donno why that would effect an old game like LOTRO though, so I doubt that is it.

Code: Select all
Thu Mar  9 04:15:51 2017 : [8172] Welcome to Nthusim
Thu Mar  9 04:15:51 2017 : [8172] You are running Nthusim Plus 4.1.270
Thu Mar  9 04:15:51 2017 : [8172] ---
Thu Mar  9 04:15:51 2017 : [8172] Windows 10 Pro  (build 9600), 64-bit
Thu Mar  9 04:15:51 2017 : [8172] Display 1: Generic PnP Monitor(0, 0, 4096, 2160) on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 #1[21.21.13.7866]
Thu Mar  9 04:15:51 2017 : [8172] ---
Thu Mar  9 04:15:51 2017 : [8172] Configuration file : C:\Users\brad\AppData\Local\Nthusim\default.ntb
Thu Mar  9 04:16:00 2017 : [8172] License : Brad Hawthorne
Thu Mar  9 04:15:52 2017 : [6824] [BE] Service started
Thu Mar  9 04:16:00 2017 : [8172] [SHM] OpenSharedMemory: Shared memory SolShm.SD.UserData270 created
Thu Mar  9 04:16:00 2017 : [8172] [HLAPI] Failed to access blend map C:\Users\brad\AppData\Local\Nthusim\default\blendmap_1.png. Error message is 2: The system cannot find the file specified.


Thu Mar  9 04:16:00 2017 : [8172] [HLAPI] Failed to load blend map C:\Users\brad\AppData\Local\Nthusim\default\blendmap_1.png
Thu Mar  9 04:16:00 2017 : [8172] [HLAPI] Failed to access blend map C:\Users\brad\AppData\Local\Nthusim\default\blendmap_2.png. Error message is 2: The system cannot find the file specified.


Thu Mar  9 04:16:00 2017 : [8172] [HLAPI] Failed to load blend map C:\Users\brad\AppData\Local\Nthusim\default\blendmap_2.png
Thu Mar  9 04:16:00 2017 : [8172] [HLAPI] Failed to access blend map C:\Users\brad\AppData\Local\Nthusim\default\blendmap_3.png. Error message is 2: The system cannot find the file specified.


Thu Mar  9 04:16:00 2017 : [8172] [HLAPI] Failed to load blend map C:\Users\brad\AppData\Local\Nthusim\default\blendmap_3.png
Thu Mar  9 04:16:01 2017 : [5488] DirectX 11 64bit requested by C:\WINDOWS\system32\dwm.exe
Thu Mar  9 04:16:34 2017 : [2444] DirectX 11 32bit requested by D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Lord of the Rings Online\lotroclient.exe
Thu Mar  9 04:16:50 2017 : [2444] DirectX 11 32bit requested by D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Lord of the Rings Online\lotroclient.exe
Thu Mar  9 04:16:52 2017 : [5488] DirectX 11 64bit requested by C:\WINDOWS\system32\dwm.exe
Thu Mar  9 04:17:21 2017 : [5488] DirectX 11 64bit requested by C:\WINDOWS\system32\dwm.exe


Diagnostics
-----------
Service status : running (ok)


--- Known processes ---
Image Name                     PID Status
========================= ======== ============================================


sihost.exe                    3848 Excluded
svchost.exe                   3888 Excluded
taskhostw.exe                 3916 Excluded
RuntimeBroker.exe             4052 Excluded
explorer.exe                  3548 Excluded
ShellExperienceHost.exe       4740 Excluded
SearchUI.exe                  5020 Excluded
SettingSyncHost.exe           2620 Excluded
FLxHCIm.exe                   5580 Excluded
ApplicationFrameHost.exe      8084 Excluded
SystemSettings.exe            7176 Excluded
AdobeIPCBroker.exe            6228 Excluded
CCLibrary.exe                 3700 Excluded
node.exe                      6564 Excluded
conhost.exe                   2636 Excluded
Microsoft.Photos.exe          5648 Excluded
WinStore.App.exe              1776 Excluded
chrome.exe                    7620 Excluded
chrome.exe                    5400 Excluded
chrome.exe                    1984 Excluded
chrome.exe                    2420 Excluded
chrome.exe                    1068 Excluded
Steam.exe                     7808 Excluded
steamwebhelper.exe            5344 Excluded
steamwebhelper.exe            4400 Excluded
NthusimPlusx64.exe            8172 Excluded
--- End known processes ---
User avatar
BHawthorne
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby The_Nephilim » Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:31 am

Well I was looking in the Windows logs and it appeared there was something wrong with the LOTRO.EXE so I uninstalled and reinstalled LOTRO will see if that makes a difference..

I think I used the old install version so I also downloaded the new install file I think that might have ben the problem we shall see..
User avatar
The_Nephilim
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:35 am

Postby The_Nephilim » Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:52 am

Faulting application name: lotroclient.exe, version: 1903.58.2974.4098, time stamp: 0x58a0a01c
Faulting module name: WarpDrvx86.dll, version: 270.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x579b0dad
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00008722
Faulting process id: 0x1dc8
Faulting application start time: 0x01d2992fae243a4c
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\StandingStoneGames\The Lord of the Rings Online\lotroclient.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Nthusim\WarpDrvx86.dll
Report Id: d3d76c33-e050-4708-a73f-50c8240df457
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


here is the Windows Application log it states nThusim/Warpdrvx86.dll is at fault also?? I am wondering why I get this and you don't. perhaps I will try the newer drivers..
User avatar
The_Nephilim
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:35 am

Postby The_Nephilim » Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:20 am

Well I installed the latest NVidia drivers and the game ran.. I then setup according to NVidia for the graphics and when I set the Refresh rate to 119hz the Game CTD..

So I think it was a combo of installing newer drivers and keeping the refresh rate on Auto.. I did get it working in DX11 so I'll just keep these setttings and I may go back to the older driver as F4 BMS is not working in 3D now :(
User avatar
The_Nephilim
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:35 am

Postby The_Nephilim » Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:52 am

It was definitely the drivers. I reinstalled the older drivers and LOTRO did not run I got a CTD, I then reinstalled the latest Video Drivers 378.66 and LOTRO ran No trouble..

I am unable to get F4 working in 3D but will try and figure that out later at least LOTRO works now..
User avatar
The_Nephilim
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:35 am

Postby BHawthorne » Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:37 pm

Interesting, seems very odd Nvidia is randomly breaking things with an older title like LOTRO. One would think it would be sorted a long time ago. Just a thought, but is hte profile settings in the one version different than the other? Using a Nvidia profile editor utility to check?
User avatar
BHawthorne
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby The_Nephilim » Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:28 am

Well I am not sure about the profile but I keep getting this sometime wondering what I could do to stop the CTD??


Code: Select all
Faulting application name: lotroclient.exe, version: 1903.58.2974.4098, time stamp: 0x58a0a01c
Faulting module name: WarpDrvx86.dll, version: 270.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x579b0dad
Exception code: 0xc0000409
Fault offset: 0x000af14b
Faulting process id: 0x1dac
Faulting application start time: 0x01d299fdc502706e
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\StandingStoneGames\The Lord of the Rings Online\lotroclient.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Nthusim\WarpDrvx86.dll
Report Id: fec7674b-13fe-40ee-9a63-ecedd7c28a43
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


that was from Application event viewer..
User avatar
The_Nephilim
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:35 am

Postby The_Nephilim » Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:57 am

Direguard that last post I have fixed it.. I needed to change the Profile for LOTRO and it worked again.. I was using 3D Migoto a Program to fix 3D Shaders in DX11 games..

Glad that is solved that would have sucked big time ;)
User avatar
The_Nephilim
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:35 am

Postby BHawthorne » Sat Mar 11, 2017 5:37 pm

My adventure tonight was a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro 64 on my boot drive. I was up to 37% fragmentation. Rather than deal with a day of defrag I just wiped it. Will check how the new 378.87 behaves this weekend. I think all these bleeding edge changes to DX12 optimization and VR addition are wreaking havok on Nvidia driver stability though in the last few months.

BTW, if you have Conan Exiles, Nthusim has a PvE server up and running.
User avatar
BHawthorne
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby The_Nephilim » Tue Mar 14, 2017 1:11 pm

Well sounds like you had a fun night ;)

I am wondering if nThusim when it draws the new cursor is that a hardware based cursor?? what I am trying to do in LOTRO is get a S3D Cursor as when the game is in S3D it is hard to click things when their ingame mouse is in 2D..

I was wondering if nThusim could implement a software based cursor option for games that don't offer that ingame?? that way we could have a Mouse in S3D as well as the game..
User avatar
The_Nephilim
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:35 am

PreviousNext

Return to Game Settings

cron