New screen build

Document the build progress for your screen or computer setup.

Postby Shack » Wed Nov 12, 2014 11:45 pm

Screen for flight sim - used metal stud framing. Will plan on filling in extra space with additional screen as needed

Image
Image
Shack
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:08 am

Postby BHawthorne » Thu Nov 13, 2014 6:43 pm

Looks good. How is the metal stud framing for the screen frame? Are they easy to work with? I've only used tubing or wood for frames so far.
Image
User avatar
BHawthorne
Product Manager
Product Manager
 
Posts: 1291
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby Shack » Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:52 am

Metal stud framing is ok. It's razor sharp to handle. The corners required making strategic cuts on the inside of the framing - which resulted In the ability to constantly " bend " it. I'll post some photos.
Shack
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:08 am

Postby Shack » Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:21 pm

Screen is 3mm pvc foam sheets. I'm happy with the flexibility of the sheets at that thickness.

Image

Image

Image

Image
Shack
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:08 am

Postby BHawthorne » Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:43 am

Hrrm, the material looks pretty sharp on the edges. I'll probably stick to lumber on my next screen experiment design. Interesting material use though. It's the first time I've seen someone use it. I like those kind of designs because I get to learn new things from other's builds.
Image
User avatar
BHawthorne
Product Manager
Product Manager
 
Posts: 1291
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby Shack » Fri Jun 12, 2015 5:05 am

Can anyone help with locating the "blend alignment" screen on all three projectors instead of only 1 as shown? Just installed Nthusim.

Thank you

Image
Shack
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:08 am

Postby BHawthorne » Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:21 am

Nthusim still requires a spanning mode be used. In the case of AMD you would enable Eyefinity 3x1.

-Brad
Image
User avatar
BHawthorne
Product Manager
Product Manager
 
Posts: 1291
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby Shack » Fri Jun 12, 2015 9:59 am

Thanks. I thought it was already spanned 3x1 but, it wasn't.
Shack
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:08 am


Return to Project Build Logs

cron